Roman Holiday

14Oct13

Popolo kiss

A family Holiday in Rome turns into a photo excursion. We had planned a holiday in Rome with my two daughters, their men, and a grandchild months ago and I was really looking forward to it.  I had rented a large apartment close to the Piazza di Popolo for us to stay in. It had rooms, terrace, and lots of Roman charm. It was perfect! I did not think I would be taking many photos and that I would be occupied with my family most of the time but it did not turn out that way. Since none of them had ever been there, they had a huge list of what they wanted to see so that left most of the days free for Sharon and I do do what we always did in Rome (and anywhere else we went for that matter) and just hang out.

We would meet up every evening somewhere, either at our apartment or some bar for an “apertivo” and then go out somewhere for dinner. Since our afternoons were free, I took my camera, Sharon and wandered the city. Our only break during the day was the customary 2-hour lunch with lots of wine. The afternoons somehow turned out better for photographs than the mornings—I wonder why.

I had read something from another photographer about keeping your head clear, your mind open and to be receptive to what was around you and I tried to follow that principle. There were good days and bad days and all in all, creatively it worked out. You can check out the images yourself by clicking here.



4 Responses to “Roman Holiday”

  1. I absolutely love this photo! You really managed to capture the moment. :)

    • Good luck and timing.

  2. 3 arleen rotchin

    Love love all the images. Black and white still my favourite film. John is looking down on you David and smiling!!!!

  3. Fantastic scene, so much going on. Great photo.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

