Raquetball: West Palm Beach, Florida


Patience:
Sometimes you just have to hang around for a while. I drive by Phipps Park a few times a day to and fro from everywhere in Florida. Its not too interesting really but it has a skateboard park (world cless) and a few baseball diamonds, a soccer field and some picnicking areas and is mostly populated by Hispanics. In all, a very friendly place.

One day in December I noticed they were building a raquetball court at the far end of the park and I knew that eventually my camera would take me there. It was finished by late February and for a while nobody was using it but I kept checking and one day a few weeks ago, there was finally some activity so I took a stroll through the park. “Eh Voila!” There it was. It reminded me of a Ben Shahn painting from the forties but what the hell. Some kids were playing and one of them noticed me and asked in Spanish what I was doing. All I said was “photo, artist”. He looked at me quizically, eventually smiled and went back to the game.

Leave a Reply

