How it should happen


Halloween Fairy: Middlebury Vermont: 2009
Two Bright Children

About a week ago I wrote about stupid officials, their misguided attempt to protect the public, at the expense of artistic expression.

This is something different. This is how it is supposed to work.

Just before Halloween, Sharon and I spent a day in Middlebury Vermont which is about 45 minutes from our home. We hung around, had an ice cream cone and watched the action on the street. Not much was happening but all of a sudden these two beautiful asian children ran past us dressed in their super-fairy Halloween costumes. I snapped a quickie and kept walking.

“Excuse me sir” said a voice behind me.

I turned around and saw this fortyish yuppie white guy. They two kids were standing next to him. I guess he was the parent.

“Oh shit!” I thought. “Here we go again.”

“Did you just take a picture of my kids?” he asked.

“Yes.”

“Oh great! My wife is always after me to take pictures of them but I just never get around to it. Would it be a problem for you to send me a copy?”

” No problem” I answered. “But perhaps we should do it right. Why don’t they stand in front of that wall and I will take one of them together. I love doing this stuff”

He told them to stand in front of the wall and I ran off a couple of exposures and handed him my card with my web site and email address on it. “Send me an email and I will send you back a couple of JPEGs tonight. ”

He said he would and went off.

The next night he sent me an email and  said he had visited my site and both him and his wife enjoyed my pictures. I sent him a photo of his kids and he replyed thanking me. The next night his wife emailed me and again thanked me for the photos and asked if I would mind photographing them when they were in their traditional outfits.

“No Problem” I replied but I doubt that they would follow up.

Leave a Reply

