Shopkeeper: Palermo, 2008


I always liked this image but there was always something about it that was wrong. It was in color and the greenish interior of the store was very distracting. I fooled around with it for months and finally settled on printing it in B&W.

That’s the nice thing about programs like Lightroom. I alway said I like it more as a contact sheet program than a image retouching tool and this is why. In the old days (film) contact sheets were printed for each roll of film and I used to store them in photo paper boxes which held 100 sheets. I would fill up about one or two of these boxes a year. That meant that whenever I was looking for images I had to look through dozens of these boxes with absolutely no idea where any particular image might be. I had to depend on memory and these days there is very little of it left.

I have been using Lightroom since it first came out about 4 or 5 years ago and finding images is a breeze because they are all in the same place. So with this particular image, I keep coming across it, I like it, I don’t like it, I try to figure out why and suddenly after a year or two “Voila!”

I hope you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

