South Florida State Fair


Did I ever mention that I love going to State Fairs? When I was a kid in Montreal, the closest I could come to this was Belmont Park but it wasn’t quite  the same. Belmont Park was only an amusement park and nothing else. State fairs are exhibitions, education (sort of) and amusement parks all rolled up together. The one here in Florida is huge and I always make it a point to go there each January. I also go to the one in Vermont but it is very small compared to this one and the carneys there really don’t like being photographed. Its as if they were “wanted” or something. The ones here are friendlier and more easy going (after all this is the south). As I walk by they wave, or engage me in a conversation if things are slow. I love the freak show parts but it just occurred to me that I should go into them once in a while. The Snake Woman, The Miniature Horse, The Two-foot Woman, and at least the Baby with Two Heads— after all its only 50 cents.

Maybe next year.

Leave a Reply

