Dixie Highway, US1 Sunset


Its been a few days since I put anything up here. The reason is that I got caught up in another site as a guest blogger. It is called BlackStar Rising and the experience has been interesting, but in trying to come up with an idea for my next blog submission, I got stuck. The article is on inspiration but it is just not getting there so I thought I would get inspired here.

This picture is taken on Dixie Highway in South Florida (Lake Worth). I live on this street and it has fascinated me ever since I first visited Florida over 25 years ago. It used to be the main highway which connected all the towns between Miami and Jacksonville in the north. It has been displaced as the main Highway by Interstate 95 and over the years it has evolved into one long suburban strip of  apartments, tattoo parlors, bars, antique stores, consignment shops and restaurants all the way from  Miami to Fort Pierce which is over 70 miles long. It is not easy to take pictures on this street for many reasons but I keep trying and am slowly developing it into a story.

Leave a Reply

