The Benefits of Old Age


I am glad that I am getting old. If I were a young squirt, I would be dressing up in drag and spending the night sitting in line in NYC waiting to buy tickets for a Lady GaGa concert. I am sort of reminded of the old Weimar Republic in Germany before the Nazis took over. The costumes were the same—the only difference was the lack of heavy eye shadow on their faces. I mean, fuck! can’t they find something better to do?

I suppose it’s not a really bad thing though. In this overcrowded world, having to compete against these kids for jobs and schools means that there is less competition. As a photographer, it is extra ammunition for my eyes. And as a parent of one of these little critters, it is headaches. To quote a line from one of my favorite movies (Ferris Bueller’s Day Off), “I weep for the future.”

2 Comments

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

