The New Year


Book_028Its been a pretty good year so far. With only 2 days left to go, I hope it will continue. As I look forward to the coming year, I can reflect on the past one quite fondly. I’ve taken a few good pictures here and there, received some kind words of encouragement from other photographers and hopefully have begun to set some plans in motion. One of them is to publish a book of my photographs. This idea was given to me by a photographer whose work I have respected and admired for over 40 years. It was a surprise when I heard it from him, but I decided to take it seriously and move forward as they say. It is not such an easy task. Getting the photographs together, editing them and fine-tuning them is the easy part. I have them—more than enough for a book. The hard part is doing the rest of it. Writing a proposal and approaching publishers is something I dread. It is not the fear of  rejection that bothers me, it is the lack of experience in proceeding. The truth is that when it comes to making photographs, I am pretty good at it but unfortunately, that is not enough. It would be nice if my images did the talking but publishers, critics, gallery owners seem to want more. They want me to explain it and that  is something I find difficult. I just wish I could hand over the photographs, say here you are and wait for a response but that is not the way the game is played. Unfortuneatly I have to write and that is something that does not come so easily to me.

I will, as Winston Churchill was fond of say “just bugger on.” I will probably agonize over every word, rewrite and rewrite it, tear it up, start over again  and rewrite it some more. At some point I will, just short of giving up, suddenly have an “ah ah!” moment see the light at the end of the tunnel, and end up with something very simple and honest—something from the heart. Then perhaps someone will listen to me.

Hopefully, things will get interesting.

Some of these images are on my web site at: www.dsaxe.com

Leave a Reply

