Walking in Circles


coin_laundry

There are many ways to take photographs. Some photographers just choose a path or route and walk along it. Others hang out in a spot and wait (probably the patient ones). Still others do a combination of both. The hardest thing for me is to end up in a place where there is nothing really going on. My expectations are diminished, but I should no better—good pictures don’t always come that easy.

The Northwood section of West Palm Beach has always been a good place for me to hang around. Some of my favorite images were shot here, but it has never been a sure thing. When I found myself here one night with nothing going on I decided to walk around in circles. That is, I chose a block and walked around it a few times. naturally the scene changes at every pass. The first time passed  this laundromat, it was empty. The next time there was a bit of action, but there was nobody sitting outside. The third pass was much better and I took this shot.

#streetphotography #documentaryphotography #northwood #westpalmbeach

Leave a Reply

